One drop makes big ripples

I love the idea of small acts creating big changes. Many of us ask ‘what difference can I drop 1make? I’m just one person. I have don’t have the public speaking skills, or the connections to make a difference, or I don’t even know what kind of difference I want to make.’

What happens if we tweak the way we think about it? What if instead of being one person who makes a big change, we are one person who makes a statement whenever necessary.  One person who makes one drop of change. If each person made one drop, one suggestion or action of change to/with another person, and that person thought about that drop and decided whether to become the first ripple and pass along that idea to the next person who becomes the next ripple, before we know it there are big ripples expanding and cross-crossing all over our world.

one drop 2This is already happening, whether we participate or not. Or whether we realize we are participating, we already are. Each of us is affected by someone else, it just happens. But what if we are consciously paying attention to what happens? What if consciously we make a drop, or reflect a drop, or turn a drop into a ripple?

Naturally, we are all individuals, so one person’s drop may not fit in our puddle. That’s OK. My drops won’t fit everyone’s values and other’s drops may not fit mine. Mutual respect is needed though, the agree to disagree can be a drop in and of itself.

drop 1I have observed many things in my world, as you have in yours. There are many times when I wish I would have stood up and a created a drop, but didn’t. And of course, there are times when I made a drop, but maybe shouldn’t have.

With all the changes I see happening, now is the time to make drops, and lots of them, stand up, make a difference, especially if it helps one person. Make lots of drops, big and small and create ripples.

This blog is about my stories. Times when I was strong enough to make a drop, or choose to not make a drop, or even wish I had made a drop, or observe someone elses drop. It’s not always easy. It often means sticking out, standing apart, making a stand, being brave.

I’m ready. How about you?

water crown

Leave a comment